Football Claims 23 UAA Honors; Coaching Staff Honored

Football Claims 23 UAA Honors; Coaching Staff Honored

(ROCHESTER, N.Y.) – For the 11th time in program history, the Carnegie Mellon University football team claimed the University Athletic Association (UAA) Championship with wins at University of Rochester and Case Western Reserve University. The league announced its postseason awards on Tuesday, as Head Coach Rich Lackner and his staff; Terry Bodnar, Andy Helms, Jeff Simmons, Bernie Colbert, Ben Gibboney, Zach Harvey, Carmelo R. Montalvo, Zach Richert and Kevin Sheridan were named Coaching Staff of the Year. It marked the seventh time that Lackner and his staff received the accolade.

Of the 23 Tartans named to the All-UAA squad, 16 received first-team honors with seven earning honorable mention accolades.

The Tartans First Team Honorees:

Junior running back Chris Haas
Senior running back Rory Hubbard
Senior H-back Karl Kumm
Senior tight end Alex Miller
Sophomore offensive lineman Bram Miller
Senior offensive lineman Damola Orimolade
Junior wide receiver Willie Richter

Sophomore defensive lineman Skyler Blacker
Junior cornerback Anthony Kennon
Junior defensive lineman Michael Lohmeier
Junior defensive back Thomas Polutchko
Senior defensive lineman Long Tran
Senior linebacker Quinn Zsido

Special Teams:
Senior kick returner Rory Hubbard
Freshman place kicker Brandon Nguyen
Junior punt returner Willie Richter

The Tartans Honorable Mention Honorees:

Senior offensive lineman Benjamin Almack
Senior quarterback Alex Cline
Sophomore offensive lineman Matthew Grange

Sophomore defensive lineman Sam Brod
Freshman cornerback Nick Cizik
Junior linebacker Quinn Gaughan
Freshman safety Sean Knight