Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men’s Golf Receives NCAA Bid

Men’s Golf Receives NCAA Bid

(INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.) – The Carnegie Mellon University men's golf team has been selected to compete in the 2022 NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championship. The championship will be held May 10-13 at the Mission Inn Resort & Club in Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida, on the El Campeón Course and Las Colinas Course. Oglethorpe University and Greater Orlando Sports Commission will be hosting the four-day event.

The appearance by the Tartans at the championships marks the program's fifth trip and third straight. Last season, the Tartans placed fourth, the highest in program history, while the 2009 team finished 22nd, the 2017 team ended play 31st at the national event and the 2019 team placed 11th.

A total of 221 participants will compete at the 2022 championships. Thirty-two conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the championships. Two teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final nine berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams. The six individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team.

The Tartans currently rank fifth nationally in the latest Division III Golfstat rankings and our led by senior William Knauth (Williamsport, Pa. / Williamsport Area). Knauth currently leads Division III as an individual with an adjusted scoring average of 71.00 through 22 rounds played and has recorded 15 rounds this season of even par or under. The senior placed tied for 26th individually at the 2021 championships.

Play begins on Tuesday, May 10 with round two to follow on Wednesday, May 11. Following 36 holes of play, the field will be cut to the top 18 teams and top six individuals. The final 18 teams will vie for the 2022 national championship with round three being played Thursday, May 12 and the fourth and final round on Friday, May 13.