Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

14 Carnegie Mellon Football Players Named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society

14 Carnegie Mellon Football Players Named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society

(IRVING, Texas) – The Carnegie Mellon University football team had 14 student-athletes named to the 2022 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers.

An elite group of 1,559 players from 313 schools qualified for membership in 2022, the Society's 16th year. The 1,559 honorees are the second most in a single year during the program's history. The initiative has now honored 14,640 student-athletes since its inception.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes at the 771 colleges and universities with football programs nationwide.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA/NAIA mandated progress towards degree requirements.

The 14 Tartans recognized were:

Ben Armbrester (WR)
Jake Cerwin (ILB)
Rocky Chirieleison (DE)
Nick Cizik (S)
Erik Dehkes (ILB)
Kevin Fox (DE)
Sean Knight (CB)
Max Martinez (NT)
Jimmy Nguyen (OT)
Obi Nnaeto (ILB)
Erik Pederson (HB)
Sean Pogorelc (OG)
Sean Sullivan (DE)
Thomas Yager (OG)