Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Five Tartans Earn All-UAA Women’s Soccer Honors

split image of five women's soccer players wearing white uniforms preparing to play the ball at their feet

(ROCHESTER, N.Y.) – Five Carnegie Mellon University women's soccer players have been honored on the 2023 All-University Athletic Association (UAA) Women's Soccer Team with sophomore Jenna Hallbeck and graduate student Caitlynn Owens earning first-team recognition. Junior Maria Askounis and sophomore Abby O'Connor were placed on the second team while senior Breana Valentovish received honorable mention accolades.

Hallbeck earned her first All-Association award after putting five shots on frame in UAA play with 11 shots taken. A wide midfielder player, Hallbeck continuously broke up opportunities on the defensive end and was a threat to opposing defenses. She recorded one point in UAA play with an assist against Emory. The sophomore recorded two goals for the season with two total assists.

Owens anchored the defense for the Tartans as a center back who also scored two goals for the season with two assists. The Tartans recorded four shutouts against UAA competition and 12 for the season and allowed just 20 shots on frame.

Askounis scored her lone UAA goal at 19th-ranked New York University while recording four total goals for the season. O'Connor surrendered just two goals against during UAA play while facing five nationally ranked teams. She recorded four shutouts in league play, six overall, and shared in five other shutouts throughout the season while registering a record of 9-0-5.

Valentovish's presence was felt all season long as a defensive midfielder who often joined the attack through distribution or with shots on frame. The senior helped stop the opposing offenses and put five of her 11 shots in UAA play on target. She scored one goal for the season against Ohio Northern University.

All of the league honors were a first, except for Askounis who was the UAA Women's Soccer Rookie of the Year and a first-team honoree in 2021.